2019 Disney Disney Plus Marvel Marvel Studios Movies News Streaming Media TV

Marvel announces their Phase 4 slate of films [Update: Release dates have shifted again]

In case you missed it, Marvel has officially announced their upcoming films in the MCU post-Avengers: Endgame. 

Black Widow

The first film in Phase 4 is Black Widow which will see Scarlett Johansson reprising her roles as Natasha Romanoff and Cate Shortland as the film’s director.

Black Widow will also star David Harbour as Alexei aka The Red Guardian, Florence Pugh as Yelena, O-T Fagbenle as Mason, and Rachel Weisz as Melina.

Black Widow his theatres on May 7, 2021.


After Black Widow, comes Eternals which is being directed by Chloé Zhao and stars Richard Madden as Ikaris, Kumail Nanjiani as Kingo, Lauren Ridloff as Makkari, Brian Tyree Henry as Phastos, Salma Hayek as Ajak, Lia McHugh as Sprite, Don Lee as Gilgamesh, and Angelina Jolie as Thena.

Eternals hits theatres on November 5, 2021.

The Falcon and The Winter Soldier

This Disney+ series sees the return of Anthony Mackie (The Falcon) and Sebastian Stan (The Winter Soldier) as they go on adventures post-Endgame.

Daniel Brühl will return as the villain, Baron Zemo and the series will premiere in 2021 on Disney+.

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings will be the first Marvel and superhero film with an Asian-lead and in this case, it will be Canadian-Chinese actor, Simu Liu in the title role.

Awkwafina is in an undisclosed role and Tony Leung will play the (real) Mandarin. The film is directed by Destin Daniel Cretton.

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings heads to theatres on July 9, 2021.


WandaVision sees Elizabeth Olsen reprising her role as Wanda Maximoff/Scarlett Witch and Paul Bettany as Vision.

Joining them is Teyonah Parris as an adult version of Monica Rambeau, who was introduced as a child in Captain Marvel. 

WandaVision premieres on Disney+ in late 2020 and will intertwine with the event of the upcoming Doctor Strange sequel.


As previously announced, the god of mischief will be getting his own series on Disney+ where he sure to cause more trouble. Tom Hiddleston will reprise his role as Loki.

Loki arrives in Spring 2021 on Disney+.

Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness

Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness sees the return of Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange and Scott Derrickson back in the director’s chair.

Scarlett Witch (played by Elizabeth Olsen) will be joining Doctor Strange on his journey through the multiverse. This will also be the first scary film in the MCU.

Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness cast its spell in theatres on March 25th, 2022.

Marvel’s What If…?

Marvel’s What If…? is the first animated series from Marvel Studios and takes inspiration from the comic books of the same name. Each episode will explore a pivotal moment from the Marvel Cinematic Universe and turn it on its head, leading the audience into uncharted territory.

The series will come to Disney+ in Summer 2021.


Hawkeye will be getting his own Disney+ series and will see Jeremy Renner reprise his role and introduce Kate Bishop to the MCU.

Hawkeye comes to Disney+ in Fall 2021.

Thor: Love and Thunder

As previously announced, Taika Waititi is back in the director’s chair for Thor 4 now called Thor: Love and Thunder. Chris Hemsworth, Tessa Thompson reprise their roles as Thor and Valkerie and Natalie Portman returns as Jane Foster who will become the Mighty Thor, Goddess of Thunder.

Thor: Love and Thunder hits theatres on February 11th, 2022.


Mahershala Ali will be joining the Marvel Cinematic Universe as a new take on Blade.

No release date or details have been announced.

Future MCU Films

At the very end of the panel, Marvel Studios President Kevin Feige also confirmed that Black Panther 2, Captain Marvel 2, Guardians of the Galaxy 3, Fantastic Four and Mutant/X-Men are all in the works.

Black Panther 2 (working title) is releasing on May 6, 2022, and Captain Marvel 2 (working title) has a July 8th, 2022 release date.

You can read more about the upcoming content for Disney+ and release dates for future Disney/Marvel/Lucasfilm projects.

Update – April 24th, 2020: Disney has shifted the release dates of Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness and Thor: Love and Thunder. Sony’s third Tom Holland Spider-Man film has shifted from July 2021 to November 5th, 2021 (Doctor Strange 2’s most recent release date).

This article has been updated to reflect those changes and more information can be found here and have been bolded. 

Update – September 23, 2020: Disney has once again shifted the release dates of Black Widow, Eternals and Shang-Chi. You can read more about the update here.

Source: Marvel


By Sachin Bahal

Sachin is the editor-in-chief of TheCanadianTechie, a site he started in 2012 to become the ultimate, independent source for tech enthusiasts or “techies”. He is a versatile writer with a passion for technology and loves to write about gaming, entertainment, tech and more.

5 replies on “Marvel announces their Phase 4 slate of films [Update: Release dates have shifted again]”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s